Skip to main content

Alaska’s New Minimum Wage

By September 21, 2020January 17th, 2022Payroll, Unemployment Tax

The Alaska minimum wage will increase from $10.19 to $10.32 effective January 1, 2021. This minimum wage applies to all hours worked in a pay period, regardless of how the employee is paid (by time, piece, commission, etcetera). All actual hours worked in a pay period, multiplied by the Alaska minimum wage, is the minimum an employee can be compensated by an employer.

Please be aware that tips do not count toward the minimum wage, public school bus driver wages must be no less than twice the current Alaska minimum wage, and that certain exempt employees must be paid on a salary basis of not less than twice the current Alaska minimum wage based on a 40-hour work week in order to maintain their exempt status.

Visit Alaska’s website for more information about Alaska’s wage laws:

Mike Parker

Author Mike Parker

Mike has 30 years of experience in unemployment cost control management, and has been with Thomas & Company for 25 years. He is the primary contact with state agencies building strong relationships, lobbying for opportunities that increase quality of service and efficiencies, and insuring compliance with state specific requirements. He works with the client service team, answering technical questions related to the unemployment insurance programs administered by the individual states and oversees the processes associated with wage audits and fraudulent claim inquiries. Mike is a member of the SIDES Operations Committee and currently sits on four Operations Committee subcommittees.

More posts by Mike Parker

Leave a Reply