Skip to main content

T&C Unemployment Insurance News And Updates – May 29, 2024


Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) is available to individuals who were affected by the recent severe storms that occurred on May 24 in Iowa. Individuals who lived or worked in Adair, Polk, Story, and Montgomery counties may be eligible for DUA benefits.

Individuals must file a claim online and can do so now. Additional information, including application deadlines, will be announced by the state soon.

Previously, DUA benefit availability in Iowa was announced for Clarke, Harrison, Mills, Polk, Pottawattamie, Ringgold, Shelby, and Union after storms on April 26, 2024.


Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) continues to be available to individuals who were affected by the recent severe storms, including straight-line winds, tornadoes, and flooding that began on April 26 in Texas.

Since the time of the initial disaster declaration, additional counties have been added, providing the opportunity for disaster unemployment assistance for individuals impacted by the storms. Individuals who live or work in Calhoun, Collin, Cooke, Denton, Eastland, Guadalupe, Hardin, Harris, Jasper, Jones, Lamar, Liberty, Montague, Montgomery, Polk, San Jacinto, Trinity, Walker, and Waller Counties are now all potentially eligible for DUA benefits, if otherwise approved.

As a reminder, Individuals can apply for benefits online through Unemployment Benefit Services or by calling TWC at (800) 939-6631 between Monday through Friday 7 a.m. and 6 p.m. The deadline for applications remains July 16, 2024.


Have you noticed an increase in unemployment activity? You aren’t alone.

As Thomas & Company continues to monitor unemployment trends, we are seeing an increase in unemployment claim activity. This is backed by national data and trends making the news. Recently, Piper Sandler and Business Insider highlighted that 21 states have a three-month unemployment average that has risen by 0.5% or more in the last 12 months – that’s 40% of the US GDP impacted by unemployment increases.

Those 21 states are: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington, and West Virginia.

For more information, check out the full article here.

Darby Gibson

Author Darby Gibson

More posts by Darby Gibson