Skip to main content

Missouri’s 2021 Minimum Wage Requirement

By December 23, 2020January 17th, 2022Payroll, Unemployment Tax

The state of Missouri advises that their minimum wage rate will be $10.30 per hour effective January 1, 2021.

Pursuant to Proposition B, which was approved by Missouri on November 6, 2018, the minimum wage will increase 85 cents per hour each year through 2023. Missouri requires all private businesses to pay, at a minimum, the $10.30 hourly rate. Retail and service businesses whose gross annual sales are less than $500,000 are the exception to this requirement. Compensation for tipped associates, however, must total at least $10.30 per hour. Employers are required to pay tipped associates at least 50 percent of the minimum wage, plus any amount necessary to bring an associate’s total compensation to a minimum of $10.30 per hour. Missouri’s minimum wage law does not apply to public employers, nor does it allow the state’s minimum wage to be lower than the federal minimum wage rate.

For more information about the minimum wage requirements and for downloadable a copy of the updated poster, visit A printable version of the poster, along with other required posters for businesses, can be found at

Mike Parker

Author Mike Parker

Mike has 30 years of experience in unemployment cost control management, and has been with Thomas & Company for 25 years. He is the primary contact with state agencies building strong relationships, lobbying for opportunities that increase quality of service and efficiencies, and insuring compliance with state specific requirements. He works with the client service team, answering technical questions related to the unemployment insurance programs administered by the individual states and oversees the processes associated with wage audits and fraudulent claim inquiries. Mike is a member of the SIDES Operations Committee and currently sits on four Operations Committee subcommittees.

More posts by Mike Parker

Leave a Reply