Skip to main content

Unemployment Insurance News – June 7, 2023

HAWAII – Changes to Partial Claim Filing Requirements
Effective June 04, 2023, a change to the filing requirements for partial unemployment benefits will take effect. Act 1 (21), HB1278 HD1 amended Hawaii Revised Statutes, section 383-29.7(b) “Partial unemployment; claim filing requirements, determinations”, which require that partial unemployment insurance benefits shall be filed in the same manner and extent that apply to total and part-total claims.

To ensure eligible unemployed individuals continue to receive benefits and services they are entitled to under the UI program, the DLIR, Unemployment Insurance Division, is requesting assistance in communicating these changes to employees when it comes to filing for partial unemployment benefits. The changes are as follows:

• All claim types, including partial claims, will now be effective the Sunday of the week in which the claim is filed by claimant. Any request to apply an earlier effective date to a claim, commonly referred to as backdating of a claim, will be addressed through the normal adjudication process.
• Weekly claim filing for partial benefits will be subject to the same filing requirements as total and part-total claims which is no later than 7 calendar-days from the week ending date for which benefits are claimed. Weekly claims filed beyond the 7 calendar-day period, will be subject to the normal adjudication process to determine whether the untimely filing can be accepted.
Should employers have further questions or need assistance, please contact your local unemployment office. Their contact information can be found at:

MAINE – Weekly Benefit Amount Increase
Effective June 1, 2023, the maximum unemployment weekly benefit amount increased to $573 for an individual without dependents, and $1,002 for an individual with dependents. The minimum weekly benefit amount also increased to $100.

NEBRASKA – Law Change Moves Important Unemployment Deadlines
On May 26, 2023, Gov. Jim Pillen (R) signed a bill (LB 191) making changes to its unemployment insurance laws to take effect immediately.
Upon receipt of state unemployment tax rates for the new tax year, Nebraska eligible employers can make a Voluntary Contribution to their state unemployment tax account to qualify for a reduction in their tax rate. Effective immediately, any voluntary contributions received after February 28 shall not be used in rate calculations for the same calendar year. The previous deadline for making a Voluntary Contribution was January 10 of each year.
Furthermore, all state unemployment tax rates will become final and binding on employers unless, within thirty (30) days after receipt of the notice, an appeal is filed with the department in accordance with rules and regulations adopted and promulgated by the commissioner. Previously, this thirty (30) day deadline was established by the mailing date of the notice.

FLORIDA – E-Verify Compliance Certification on SUI Tax Return
Currently, all private employers in Florida must use E-Verify or Form I-9 to verify employment eligibility for new hires and all public employers in Florida are required to use E-Verify.
Employers required to use E-Verify must certify on their first unemployment insurance (UI) tax return of each calendar year that they are in compliance with state law when making UI contributions or reimbursing the state’s UI system.
Effective July 1, 2024, if the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity (DEO) determines that an employer failed to use the E-Verify system as required, the DEO must notify the employer and give the employer 30 days to comply. If the DEO determines that an employer failed to use the E-Verify system three times in a 24-month period, the DEO must impose a fine of $1,000 per day until the employer provides proof of compliance.

COLORADO – FAMLI Benefit Payments Impacted by State Average Weekly Wage Increase
Colorado’s average weekly wage will be increasing starting July 1, 2023. That means that when FAMLI benefit payments become available in January 2024, those payments will be based on the new State average. The State’s new average weekly wage is going up to $1,421.16 in July. That’s an increase of more than $70 from the current average.
The reason this increase matters is that FAMLI benefits are indexed (on a sliding scale) relative to the statewide average weekly wage. While payments will be based on a higher average in 2024 – premiums won’t. As previously reported, premiums were set by law through 2025. Premiums will remain at 0.9% of wages, and employers will still only be allowed to deduct up to 0.45% of that from workers.

Brad Barnett

Author Brad Barnett

More posts by Brad Barnett