Texas: Disaster Unemployment Assistance

By July 12, 2018Regional

TWC (Texas Workforce Commission): Workers whose jobs were impacted by the recent storms and flooding in Hidalgo and Cameron Counties may be eligible for federal funding with Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA). A Presidential Disaster Declaration (FEMA-4377-DR) was made on the sixth of July and states unemployment insurance benefits if the following applies to you:

  • Have applied for and used all regular unemployment benefits from any state, or do not qualify for unemployment benefits
  • Worked or were self-employed or were scheduled to begin work or self- employment in the disaster area
  • Can no longer work or perform services because of physical damage or destruction to the place of employment as a direct result of the disaster
  • Establish that the work or self-employment they can no longer perform was their primary source of income
  • Cannot perform work or self-employment because of an injury as a direct result of the disaster
  • Became the breadwinner or major support of a household because of the death of the head of household

Please note the following:

Those affected may apply for benefits online, or by calling 800-939-6631 (M-F; 8-5).

Application deadline: August 10, 2018

The following documentation is required:

  • Social Security number
  • Copy of the most recent federal income tax form
  • Documentation to support that you were working or self-employed when the disaster occurred (check stubs, etc.)

All required documentation must be submitted within 21 days from the date you apply.

Documentation needs to be mailed to:

Texas Workforce Commission

UI Support Services Department, Attn: DUA

101 East 15th Street

North Lamar

Austin, TX, 78778-0001

Alternatively, you may fax your documents to: 512-936-3250.

More information can be found on the Texas Workforce Commission website.

Please visit WorkinTexas.com for job search assistance.


Josh Kendall

Author Josh Kendall

More posts by Josh Kendall