Effective on the first day of 2020, private companies in the state of Missouri will be
required to pay employees a minimum hourly wage of $9.45. There is an exception to this
rule as it applies to retail and service businesses with less than $500,000 in gross sales.
Per proposition B, the state’s hourly wage will continue to increase 85 cents per hour yearly
until 2023. In the state of Missouri, public employers are exempt from state laws and the
federal minimum wage rate does not affect the state minimum wage.
Employees that receive tips as part of their compensation must be paid at least 50 percent
of the minimum wage in addition to the amount needed to bring the amount up to at least
$9.45 per hour.
Click here for more details.