The Massachusetts Legislature passed House Bill 4640 to provide paid leave and raise the state’s hourly minimum wage on May 20, 2018. HB 4640 has now been sent to Gov. Charlie Baker (R) to sign or veto.
Under the measure, HB 4640 would raise the state’s hourly minimum wage to $15 by 2023 from the current $11. The measure also would phase out the rule that employees who work on Sunday must be paid time and one-half.
In addition, Massachusetts workers could take up to 12 weeks of paid leave to care for sick family members or a new baby and up to 20 weeks of paid leave to tend to one’s own medical needs.
As always, if there are any questions please do not hesitate to contact us or visit our website.