Alaska: Minimum Wage Increase

By November 5, 2018Regional

A ballot passed by voters back in 2014 raised the minimum wage in the state of Alaska by one dollar in 2015 and 2016. The vote states the rate would continue to be adjusted for inflation each year, which will bring the rate up to $9.89 from $9.84 starting in 2019.

Law requires the state minimum wage rate remain at least one dollar an hour above the federal rate. Tips do not count toward the minimum wage, but it applies to all hours in a pay period, regardless of whether the employee is paid by time, piece, commission, etc. Bus drivers in the state of Alaska earn wages that cannot be less than double the minimum wage amount based on a 40-hour work week. This maintains their exempt status.

More details on wage laws in the state of Alaska can be found at:



Josh Kendall

Author Josh Kendall

More posts by Josh Kendall